Keep Digging For Life

Last night I examined my heart.  I haven’t been spending enough time with the Lord lately.  But that’s everyone, right?

But I don’t want to be like everyone else.  I want to have a relationship with God.  So what’s getting in my way?

Life.

Life is getting in the way.  It’s not right to make excuses, but when I’m tired or restless I just want to relax in front of the TV.  Not sit in front of my Bible reading.

But spending time with God doesn’t mean you have to meditate in front of your Bible consistently.  I always talk to God throughout my day, telling Him what I’m thankful for and what’s bothering me.

What I haven’t been doing is spending time soaking in His presence.  Who does THAT anymore?

It’s hard.  We live in a fast-paced world.  No one slows down anymore.  We always have to rush off to do one thing and then another or have obligations outside of the home.  How many times to we just rest?

No, I don’t mean watching videos on your phone.  I mean rest.  Sit in silence.  Think of your life; listen to God.  Do nothing but focus on Him.  That can’t be hard, right?  But you’d be surprised how many people don’t.  Believers and non-believers alike find this task to be challenging.  We are constantly focused on tasks and entertainment that we have forgotten how to rest our minds.

Spiritual growth leads to spiritual gain.

Lately I found myself envying people.  It’s not that they’re better than me, but they’re in a different place in their lives.  I find myself thinking, “I wish I had her life” or “I want to be like him.”  It’s easy to want someone’s life when they are getting rewards, but what I don’t see is all the trials they went through to reap that reward.

Think of a flower.  I plant a seed, and a beautiful sprout bursts from the soil.  With time, it changes into a breathtaking flower.  Everyone likes flowers.  There are entire businesses devoted to selling flowers.  I see the flower and think of how beautiful it is and how we would love to take it home for it to be ours.

What I don’t see is the struggle that flower went through to have life.  Beneath the surface a root sprouted from the seed, digging down into the earth.  The root searches for a lifeline of water, fighting past rocks and everything else standing its way.  It is only able to grow above the surface because it gains ground below the surface.

People are similar.  Oftentimes we see people gaining rewards in their lives and compare ourselves, but we rarely compare our lives to the struggles that took place to reap that reward.

So today, I’m putting my phone down for a designated amount of time.  I’m going to spend time with God to grow stronger spiritually and pray.  I’m going to stop comparing myself because God gives each of us a unique purpose.  And if you’re going through a difficult time, don’t distress.  You might just be finding water among stones before creating your own flower of life.

Leave a Reply

